Gluten Free Diet

  • You should not start a gluten free diet without having a bowel biopsy demonstrating intolerance to it, by alteration of the mucosa. The requirement of this diet , just because there is suspicion of intolerance to this protein or positive test result of specific antibodies without an intestinal biopsy to confirm it can be a mistake that the only thing it does is delay or mask have made ​​the diagnosis of celiac disease possible .
  • The diet must be strictly followed throughout life. Ingestion of small amounts of gluten can cause damage to the intestinal villi, but not always why these lesions are accompanied by clinical symptoms.
  • Is removed from the diet any product bearing as an ingredient WHEAT , OATS , BARLEY , RYE , spelled, triticale and / or derived products : starch, flour , bread , pasta, etc. .
  • Celiac can take all kinds of foods that contain gluten in their origin: meat, fish, eggs, milk, cereal gluten (rice and maize), legumes, tubers, fruits, vegetables, edible fat and sugar.
  • The consumption of manufactured products carries potential risks assumed. Today, reading the label , at the time of purchase, is not a measure entirely sure though because current legislation AGREE to specify the botanical origin of flour , starch , meal and other derived from cereals wheat, oats , rye and triticale used , can lead to confusion. Ideally ALWAYS READ THE PRODUCT LABEL BEFORE PURCHASE, but always be the same.
  • When purchasing processed and/or packaged, always check the list of ingredients on the label. If any term of which is given below, without indicating the plant of origin appears in this relationship, the product should be rejected , unless listed as permitted in the latest edition of the LIST OF FOOD FIT FOR COELIACS, which periodically updated FACE.
  • The ratio of ingredients that usually appears on the labeling of food products that contain or may contain gluten are: gluten, grain, flour, modified starch (E -1404, E -1410, E -1412, E -1413, E -1414, E -1420, E -1422, E -1440, E -1442, E -1450), starch, fiber, thickening, meal, protein, vegetable protein, hydrolyzed protein, malt, malt extract, yeast extract yeast, spices and scents.
  • As a general rule, should be eliminated from the diet all products BULK, HANDMADE processed and that are not labeled, where it can not check the list of ingredients.
  • It is to be careful with food handling, in bars and restaurants ( potato tortillas that can be yeast, chips made ​​in fryers that are also used to fry croquettes or patties, sauces linked with flour, batter, and those natural vegetable mashed or creams “croutons” wheat bread are added), and also in school canteens (e.g., if a starter is bean stew with sausage, is not a reliable measure remove the sausage and serve bean the coelia , because if the sausage take gluten, stay in the sauce). Refer production methods and ingredients in each dish before eating.
  • It will prevent gluten-free frying oils which previously have been fried products with gluten.
  • Caution with corn flour and rice flour selling in bakeries or supermarkets uncertified absence of gluten. May be contaminated if your grinding mill has made ​​you also grind other grains such as wheat or oats.
  • In those houses where there is a coeliac, you should remove the wheat flour and regular bread crumbs and flour used in its place and gluten-free bread crumbs or mashed potato flakes to coat, thicken sauces or breading. Thus, many of the foods you prepare can take the whole family, including coeliac. Caution with imported food. The same manufacturer may be used according to the different regulations of the countries, different ingredients for a product that is marketed under the same brand.
  • WHEN IN DOUBT WHETHER A PRODUCT CONTAINS GLUTEN, DO NOT EAT.